Halva flapjacks

I went through something of a love-hate relationship with tahini last year. Equipped with grand plans of making vast amounts of hummus, I bought a tub of tahini and promptly failed to make anything that rivalled the shop bought stuff. So, the tahini lived unloved in my fridge until eventually it got used up in various concoctions.

Unfortunately, this recipe for Halva Flapjacks from Dan Lepard’s Guardian collection only came onto my radar after my tub of tahini had been used up. Finally, yesterday, I remembered to pick up another tub while shopping, and today I turned out a batch.

Flapjacks are a firm favourite of mine, but I’ve never come across a fail-safe recipe. Some fall apart after baking, others end up too brittle, or too sweet, or too oily. These, on the other hand, turned out perfectly to my taste. They’re fudgey, not too sweet and have a lovely crunchy golden topping.The (not overwhelming) sesame taste reminds me of those Sesame Snap bars I used to have as a kid, and that I used to consider as a healthy version of a chocolate bar. I doubt this recipe counts as a healthy flapjack, but then, really, what flapjack recipe would? The sesame taste probably means that these won’t replace “normal” flapjacks, but it’s great to have a recipe that doesn’t taste of oats coated in golden syrup (that’s what porridge in the morning is for).

I made a few changes to the recipe. I used pecans instead of walnuts, as I’m not a big fan of the latter. I also used Tesco Value Oats instead of the posher properly rolled variety (so mine were a bit more like a very course oatmeal). I used a 24cm square tin, and baked them at 180C (no fan) for about 12 minutes, and noticed they were turning quite brown on top, so I turned the oven down to 140C and gave them another 5 minutes or so. I left them in the tin until they had cooled down a little, and then cut them into squares.

One has already bitten the dust. Others will no doubt follow in short order.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

