Meringues

The home made custard in the trifle used five egg yolks, leaving me with five egg whites in the fridge. Today, I pulled out two of them, and turned them into meringues.

I let the whites come to room temperate, and used Delia’s ratio of 50g for each egg white. The sugar I used was sort of home made too: I bought a box of sugar cubes ages ago, never found a use for them (where have you heard me say that before?), so whizzed them up in a blender, and ended up with something half way between caster and icing sugar. I whisked the egg whites to foamy with an electric hand whisk, then added the sugar a tablespoon at a time, along with 1/2 tsp cream of tartar. The end mixture was just the right dropping consistency to get the little flicks on top of the meringues.

I had preheated the oven (no fan) to 140C, then turned it down to 120C when I put them in. I left them for just over an hour, then turned off the oven and kept the door closed for about 4 or 5 hours until it had cooled down, then I took them out.

They’ve dried out nicely. I don’t like chewy meringues, and these have come out nice and powdery. The sugar instead has also caramelised (I didn’t use golden caster sugar), and left interesting sugar ‘lava’ trails down the sides of some of them.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

