Potato and rosemary rolls

One of the first proper bread-baking books I bought (try saying that quickly!) was Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. It’s a lovely book, written by a man who is clearly passionate about bread in all forms and who runs his own blog. Unfortunately I think the book was too advanced for me when I bought it, and I remember some particularly memorable failures involving bagels and brioche. As a result it’s often just sat on my shelf, occasionally thumbed through, but not often baked from. However, there is one particular bread in it that I do come back to, namely his potato and rosemary bread.

The original recipe calls for the dough to make two round loaves, but I prefer it as rolls. Ironically, these rolls were probably the least successful batch that I’ve made from the recipe, and they ended up like little UFO saucer shapes, but I have at least four explanations as to why that might be.

First, the biga I used had been sat in my freezer since I last made a batch of this bread, back in September. The intervening eight months had not been kind to it; it had been badly freezer burnt and had developed a thick crust. Undeterred I brought it up to room temperature and pulled away the crusty bits, but I doubt it would have much good left in it given the sorry state it was in.

Secondly, I subbed 60 g of the white bread flour for rye flour, which I wouldn’t have expected to make much of a difference, but it has made the crumb noticably darker than it usually is.

Thirdly, the dough was incredibly slack. This might have been due to either of the above, or I might have added too much water, but it was very difficult to shape, and the rolls flattened out dramatically as they were rising. I probably baked them a little bit early as I was concerned that I’d end up with a sheet of flat bread if I waited much longer. Partly due to the slackness there are huge holes in the crumb in places, which makes me think that it might have worked well had I shaped it like a ciabatta.

Finally, our oven clock runs five minutes faster than all the other clocks in our flat (and neither of us can figure out how to change it). Usually I remember this, but today I did not, and consequently under baked them by about five minutes, so they’re a bit gummy in the middle (despite passing the hollow-bottom tap test).

But, despite all that, they taste lovely and they filled the flat with the smell of rosemary as they were cooking. I didn’t use the optional roast garlic as I couldn’t be bothered to roast some up just for this recipe, but I’ve used it before and it does go well with the rosemary flavour.

This entry was posted in Baking, Bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

