Buttermilk baps

Dan Lepard’s recipe for buttermilk baps has become my default bread recipe. I’ve made some changes to the original, tripling the amount of wholemeal flour and reducing the white flour accordingly, slightly reducing the butter, and I almost always use yoghurt let down with water. Normally I double up the recipe, and come away with 12-14 baps, each around 140g before they’re cooked. Last week I pulled out the recipe again to use up some rye flour I had lingering. I didn’t have enough for my usual white:wholemeal ratio, so simply used more white flour:

They’re whiter than they usually are, but they’ve still got that lovely soft, buttery, milky texture that has made this recipe my staple. I shall be looking forward to my sandwiches throughout the week!

This entry was posted in Baking, Bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

